Thursday, July 8, 2021

Lowman Smith is new chair of DeKalb County elections board, Jester elected vice-chair

Dele Lowman Smith was elected as the chair of DeKalb County's five-member Board of Registration & Elections on Thursday, with new member Nancy Jester unanimously elected as the vice chair of the board.

Dele Lowman Smith
The board elected officers during its first business meeting since members were sworn in by a Probate Court judge on Wednesday. The board has two new members (Jester and Karli Swift) and three returning members. All will serve two-year terms that end on June 30, 2023.

In nominating Lowman Smith as chair, Susan Motter described her as "an ethical, a transparent, a hard worker and collaborative colleague." Her nomination was seconded by Swift.

"I see Ms. Lowman Smith as demonstrative of a generational shift that is needed for this board as well as the elections department," Motter said. 

"In her day-to-day livelihood, she does work with a number of governmental entities including with respect to elections. So she clearly has the experience," Motter said. "I am looking to her to bring a new era of transparency and openness amongst the board, the board members and the public." 

Lowman Smith was elected chair in a 3-2 vote, with Jester and Anthony Lewis voting against her nomination. The vote for Lowman Smith came after a 3-2 vote against Lewis' nomination of Jester to chair the board. 

"I look forward to working with you," Jester, a former DeKalb County commissioner, told Lowman Smith. "I know you'll make a great chair."