Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Two Stone Mountain city council members voted out of office

Two of three incumbents on the Stone Mountain City Council were defeated in a Nov. 5 municipal election.

Gina Stroud Cox, a special education teacher, and Clint Monroe, a financial analyst, ousted incumbents and were elected to the council. Chakira Johnson, a civil engineer who was first elected to the council in 2007, was elected to another four-year term.

In unofficial but complete results from the county election office:

For City Council Post 1, Cox had 174 votes, or 34.7 percent of the votes, defeating incumbent Richard Mailman, who has served on the Stone Mountain City Council for more than a decade. Mailman received 148 votes (29.5 percent). Chancey Parker placed third with 110 votes (22 percent). Richard Langley received 69 votes (13.8 percent).

For Post 2, Monroe received 218 votes or 43.9 percent of the votes. Incumbent Bernie Waller, who was appointed to the City Council by council members just under one year ago, received 150 votes (30.2 percent). Claus Friese, received 128 votes (25.8 percent).

For City Council Post 3, Johnson received 278 votes, or 55.9 percent of the ballots cast. Former council member Andrea Redmond received 219 votes (44.1 percent).                   

Unlike some other DeKalb County cities, there will be no runoffs in Stone Mountain. Article 5, Section 5.13. of the Stone Mountain city code says: "The person receiving a plurality of the votes cast for any city office shall be elected."